Workshops |Open Sessions | Events 

A programme of growing, learning and sharing activities, including open sessions, and workshops, themed around local (climate-friendly) food, wildlife-friendly food growing and climate action.

Workshops

Grow-along Workshops

Grow Food, Eat Well

Join us for 12 monthly workshops on local food, food growing and climate action

10am – 2.30pm

  • Saturday 26th March 2022
  • Saturday 30th April 2022
  • Saturday 28th May 2022
  • Saturday 25th June 2022
  • Saturday 30th July 2022
  • Saturday 27th August 2022
  • Saturday 24th September 2022
  • Saturday 29th October 2022
  • Saturday 26th November 2022
  • Saturday 17th December 2022
  • Saturday 28th January 2023
  • Saturday 25th February 2023
Workshops

Family Workshops

Families come together in the school holidays to explore and learn.

10am – 12pm

  • Wednesday 13th April 2022 – Wild Thymes Forest School Play Session
  • Wednesday 13th April 2022 – Sunflower Fun with Sarah & Lizzie at West House Community Garden
  • Wednesday 27th July 2022
  • Wednesday 31st August 2022
  • Monday 31st October 2022
  • Wednesday 22nd February 2023
Workshops

Skills Workshops

A chance to learn a range of skills to help us grow.

10am – 2pm

  • Saturday 21st May 2022 – Making willow structures for the garden with Sarah Lart from Seren Willow
  • More dates coming soon
Open Sessions

at Kymin Community Gardens & West House Community Garden

A chance to get together to tend the gardens.

West House sessions run every Monday from 10am – 12pm.

Kymin Community Gardens – dates to be confirmed.

Events

Foraging Walks

Bethan from Welsh Wild Food will guide us through the wild food we find locally. 

  • Saturday 2nd April 2022
  • Saturday 2nd July 2022
  • Saturday 3rd September 2022
  • Saturday 22nd October 2022
Events

Seed & Plant Exchange

We’ve teamed up with Friends of Victoria Square to bring you this event as part of the Food Vale Festival.

Events

Community Market

In September, we will bring together a range of local groups, producers and growers together to showcase all things local food and climate action.

Saturday 17th September | 10.30am – 1.30pm

Events

Community Conversations

A chance to get together to share our experiences of local food, food growing and climate action.

One. 
Saturday 23rd April 2022

Good to Grow Day Celebration.

We invite members of our Growing Together Network and our followers and volunteers to join us in the garden, sharing our experiences of food growing in rich conversation. Plus time in the garden learning about plants and seeing what we are doing in the Kymin grounds. An excellent time for anyone who hasn’t been before to come along and join in.

Two.
Sunday 24th July

Penarth Open Gardens

Visit West House Community Garden. Find out what we are growing and how we are aiming to be climate savvy gardeners, growing food with nature, for the planet.


Three.
Saturday 19th November

Penarth Green Spaces Network Gathering.

We invite all involved in our community growing spaces to join us for for a show & tell. Learn about local projects, plus let’s talk about working together as we all go about growing in our communities. All the work we do amounts to a considerable amount of climate action, so let’s talk about that too.